Image

I wish all people were this enthusiastic about reading

13 Jul

People need to read more

If I had more spare time, I’d read a novel. OR I would add a blog post that is more than just a picture with a short description.

30 Responses to “I wish all people were this enthusiastic about reading”

  1. caymayowrites 13 July 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Well said and well shown.

  2. Anne Bonney 13 July 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Love it – thanks for the reference. Regarding Carl Sagan – still miss him.

  3. Impybat 13 July 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Love, love, love. Books are amazing.

  4. John 13 July 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    The public school system in this country is pumping out kids whom can’t read!

  5. stateofthebook 13 July 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Reblogged this on stateofthe book and commented:
    Couldn’t think of more wonderful way to describe why books hold an attraction to me.

  6. nichorlings 13 July 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Love it! It captures the essence of what literature is about!

  7. Paul Hamell 13 July 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    But it’s not magic, it’s a chance to glimpse reality as it truly is – a place where we cannot really be separated by time or space. It only seems like magic because we don’t usually see it.

  8. Bill 13 July 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    I enjoy reading and even carry my Kindle with me when I travel. Also, a must when going to the doctor’s office. Pop

  9. Keith 13 July 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Meditations: the best book ever written. (The others aren’t too bad, either.)

  10. azurachan 14 July 2012 at 10:50 am #

    I agree with you. Books makes me crazy. hehehe

  11. writecrites 14 July 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more. Read, read, read, people. It’s a wondrous thing.

  12. panoramaofthoughts 15 July 2012 at 3:39 am #

    sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words…so you did good to post these pics. Having said that, I do agree with you…nothing like a good book! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. geek20/20 15 July 2012 at 4:21 am #

    I was grinning while reading this comic. The ending reminded me of Terry Pratchett’s ‘Guards, Guards’
    May I reblog this?

  14. Geek 20/20 15 July 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Reblogged this on A Geek of 20/20 vision and commented:
    This informative comic was posted on Blah Blah Blog. It put me in a thoughtful mood.

  15. Angela 15 July 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I love reading and haven’t given in to technology yet. I’m traveling for eight days and trying to narrow down which books to bring so my bag’s not too heavy. Oh the dilemma.

  16. thephantomchild 15 July 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    Definitely a great comic – I cannot like this enough. IF ONLY all people were that interested in books. We’d be a light million years ahead of time.

  17. Jeremy 15 July 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    My girl friend and I were having a conversation about how books were wonderful last night… this comic essentially sums up everything we said – although much more eloquently ๐Ÿ˜›

  18. Julie Israel 15 July 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    YES! This is great. And I know it’s easy to feel like we don’t have the time to read…but what I do sometimes is think about how much time I spend watching movies or TV shows. That motivates me to change my habits reeeeeal quick-like.

    Also wanted to let you know I have tagged you for a Lovely Blog Award (though really itโ€™s more of a creative prompt!) If youโ€™d like to participate I write about it here: http://julieisrael.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/late-night-post/ Cheers!

  19. Flamingo Dancer 16 July 2012 at 5:25 am #

    As a teacher librarian all I can say is – YES! YES!

  20. Peter 16 July 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks for posting this; it’s absolutely true….. writing connects us across the millennia

  21. Heidi Street 17 July 2012 at 7:17 am #

    This is a really nice cartoon! I feel the exact same way when I read a good novel, and hope that when people read my writing, that they feel like I’m talking to them in an intimate manner ๐Ÿ™‚ Is it OK if I publish this cartoon onto my blog, The Teenage Jane Austen?

  22. greyhousejournal 23 July 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Love this post! It’s something we rarely think about but that is truly remarkable. To be able to connect through the eons with those long gone. Books are such an amazing gift!

  23. Vishal 27 August 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Books are awesome! And yes, I too wish that bibliophilia were more prevalent.

  24. jbw0123 29 August 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Just finished Barbara Kingsolver’s “Flight Behavior”. It was so engrossing, I forgot where I was. That’s a book! Great post.

  25. On A Whim 23 September 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    The first time I saw this comic, in its context that’s all it was intended to be: a comic. But here, I’m glad people have been able to catch a glimpse of why people really love books. There’s just all this potential stored in something so calm and innocent looking as a book. Glad you could give this “comic” a second chance.
    Also, thanks for liking my post!

  26. krisweinrich 29 September 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Wow! Great comic. Thanks for sharing!

  27. shogunx 17 October 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Makes me wanna read more. Makes me wanna finish my book that’s taking forever. Good post.

  28. Ying Ying Shi 27 July 2014 at 11:18 am #

    While I usually prefer face-to-face interactions, I have to admit that writing and reading is far reaching. Books and articles allow us to communicate cross time and distance.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I tried to repost, but. . . « the WRITE time - 28 August 2012

    […] blog (https://crashandbern.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/people-need-to-read-more/)ย has a great graphic about reading. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

